I Am From… Poem

November21

I am from worn-out socks,
and Little Debbie’s and Harry Potter Legos.
I am from the 800 acres with a bright blue sky,
and the smells of fried chicken and roast.

I am from the massive oak tree,
who seems to be growing and expanding faster than I can comprehend.

I am from the walk of the lights and long legs,
and Vance and Sue Ellen’s branch.
I am from Duck Dynasty and over-decorating for holidays,
and listening to talk radio.

I am from “don’t roll your eyes” and “If you don’t believe, you won’t receive”,
and “If you can’t be good, just be yourself”.
I am from sparkling grape juice and gingerbread cookies,
and wishing for snow.

I am from Westlake and the chancellor of Germany,
and warm chili and cold minute maid.
I am from the dangling length of tied sheets,
hanging from the 2nd story window, with my uncle attached to it.

I am from the magnifying glass,
that is carefully displayed on my desk,
which is what my grandmother gave me,
before she passed.

I am from these moments…

That shape me into who I am now.

by posted under poems | No Comments »    

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:



Skip to toolbar